Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Funny thing happens to many of us before we begin a personal relationship with Christ. Its a catch 22 situation. At least this is what happened with me.

Prior to taking the plunge to follow Christ I had to resolve the issue.

As I began to learn about what it means to be a Christian, what kind of life to lead, what kind of choices to make, it was clear I wasn’t doing life exactly right. I quickly understood that change was necessary.

I was (and still am) a sinner just like the rest of us. And by that stage in my life I had gotten pretty good at it.

If I was to become Christian, change was a coming!

The problem is that I saw change as a prerequisite for Christianity.

The catch is, I needed Jesus’ grace in my life to induce the change that was so much needed. But how is grace going to work from within if I don’t let it in.

I thought I had some work to do before I could actually take the step of baptism or make my  Christianity public or simply worship through serving. I thought I had to change first! I thought I wasn’t good enough. I thought I would be a hypocrite.

What I had yet to realize, is that real change was to come only once I accepted Jesus into my life. God’s grace was to create profound change from the inside out.

