Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s not that I was a bad person. I considered myself pretty sane, mostly good, and quite satisfied with life. I had so many blessings in life… I did manage to marry up (she’s the perfect combination of sexy and cute, mixed in with smarts and funny). I had chosen a career in the noblest profession of teaching.  Even if that meant I would never become the wealthiest man around, I had a comfy home and plenty of toys to be thankful for.

Even so, when I turned to Jesus, everything changed. Somehow, my priorities changed, my needs and wants changed, my dreams changed. It seems that God had a plan for my life, and somehow, as good as my life was, as positive an impact I was making, this was not the life I was meant to live. How good or bad I was, was not the issue.

The thing of it is was, that God had plans for my life, and never once had I asked about those plans. Never did I stop to question my own plans… “Is this what I am supposed to be doing? Is this God’s plan for me?”

Now that I make it a habit to actually talk with God, and sometimes even listen to God, I can’t seem to get those words out of my head. He continues to talk to me… telling me…

Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms

-1 Peter 4:10(NIV)

Christianity, I am finding out, is about relationships. First and foremost it is about building an intimate relationship with Christ. Then, it is about building relationships with others. A relationship based on love through service to one another. God intends for us to be there for each other. Particularly for the less privileged, for the needy.  I guess there is a reason loving God and loving others are the most important commandments.

 ‘The most important one,’ answered Jesus, ‘is this: ‘Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.’

Mark 12:30-31 (NIV)

Christianity, I am also finding out, is about sharing God’s love and grace. God’s plan is for each of us to serve God, to minister His grace. For me that ministry of service has been a calling to help others serve in community outreach. To help others find joy in doing good.

As I begin to build an actual relationship with Christ, a relationship with open lines of communication, I am finding out there is something more out there that I yet need to do. It’s not that I was doing everything in life all wrong. It’s not that I became a bad person along the way.

Quite simply, I am finding out the life I was intended to live included service to others. I was missing the boat on that.